The first few days

Lola is a great dog,  from day one not a single bathroom accident in the house,  she’s sweet and affectionate (she loves EVERYONE), can sit on the couch and chew on a bone or play with a toy,  and with one exception has never destroyed anything inside the house.  (She does like to randomly bring me full rolls of toilet paper,  which I find pretty funny. )

Chorkie demolition

The one exception is she could not handle being left alone. For the first few days I couldn’t go to the bathroom without ear splitting levels on whining.  We’ve been working on this together.  I felt the major turning point for her was when she CHOSE to stay inside and chew on a bone rather than go outside with me.  As of this morning I was able to shower,  brush my teeth and do my hair alone.  She whined a tiny bit towards the end,  but it was quiet,  and she stopped pretty quickly.  I think we still have a way to go before she’ll be able to be comfortable alone while I’m at work,  but I now feel confident that we’ll get there and that I can go down the street to the store to pick up something without her being too stressed out about it.

wpid-2014-07-21-16.41.38.jpg.jpeg

What I’ve done so far is just work on desensitizing her to me coming and going.  The fact that I am up and down and in and out of various rooms, along with never coming into or going out of the house from the same door probably helps with this.

Leave a comment